by Kerry Cole on May 17, 2019 4:45:00 PM

Longtime Members Receive Special Recognition for Dedication

specialrec1The APA is selective in handing out Special Recognition awards, but this year two members are deserving of the recognition for their many years of dedicated service on national committees and to their local chapters.

Janet Roome Jenny, CPP, and Bill Schmalle, CPP, received the honor during Friday’s Awards Luncheon.

Jenny, Senior Consultant for the Hackett Group, became a Certified Payroll Professional (CPP) in 1994 and an APA member the next year.

specialrec2She has served on the Education Grant Committee, Hotline Referral Service, Immigration Subcommittee of the Government Relations Task Force (GRTF), and the Global Issues Subcommittee of the Strategic Payroll Leadership Task Force (SPLTF). She has also been Detroit Chapter President.

In 2012, she received a Meritorious Service Award.

“This is quite a surprise,” she said. “It’s been my pleasure to serve the American Payroll Association and GPMI in many capacities. I don’t know what to say, so thank you.”

Schmalle, Senior Payroll Analyst at Penumbra, Inc., joined the APA in 1990 and has been a CPP since 1994.

“Wow, this is totally unexpected,” he said, thanking his San Francisco chapter. “Everybody get involved. You get so much more back than you put out.”

He has served on the Board of Contributing Writers, National Speakers Bureau, and the IRS Issues, Federal Tax Forms and Publications, and SSA Wage Reporting Redesign Subcommittees of the GRFT. He also served as Government Liaison Officer of the San Francisco Bay Area Chapter.

He received a Meritorious Service Award in 2013.

Topics: 2019 Congress

Topics: 2019 Congress

Recent Posts


Payroll Source Plus
APA Boot Camp
Congress 2021